Where should an adult beginner start with Shaolin kung fu?
For one week, compare Xiaolong and Qufu: both publish residential study with English translation. Gulun requires at least two weeks. Confirm the campus, adult beginner group, room and total fee; a Shaolin name does not mean training inside the monastery.
For a first week with a clear all-in price, start with Qufu or Xiaolong. Both publish what a week costs and include training, meals, a shared room and English translation.
Clearest all-in priceQufu Shaolin Kung Fu School. US$360 for one week or US$600 for two, plus a one-off US$100 application fee. Weekday training, three meals, a bed in a two-person room and an English translator are included.
Training six days a weekInternational Shaolin Dragon Academy. US$380 for one week plus the US$100 application fee, with three meals, English translation and a twin room with its own bathroom. A single room costs US$320 more per month when one is free.
A private room and an English-speaking officeShaolin Wushu International Training Centre. The centre describes private rooms with bathrooms, flexible start dates and English-speaking office staff. Ask for the current short-course price in writing.
Standing practice and internal foundationsGulun Chanyuan — Wu Nanfang’s Academy. Teaching begins with standing meditation and basic stances, mainly from Wu Nanfang’s senior disciples. Plan for at least two weeks.
We agree the work and any service fee with you before proceeding. The host confirms admission, dates and accommodation.
Start by choosing a school and a daily training routine. “Shaolin” can identify a martial tradition as well as the monastery at Dengfeng. A school teaching Shaolin kung fu may have its own campus, teachers and admissions office, and may be in another province.
The four schools below publish residential study. Their descriptions provide practical starting points for an adult beginner’s enquiry, not a guarantee of admission or a particular teacher. Ask which group you would join, how the workload progresses and what an ordinary week includes.
Which school requires more than one week?
Gulun states a minimum of 2 weeks. Xiaolong lists a one-week package; Qufu lists one- and two-week rates. Compare the taught sessions and overnight dates before choosing. These are school stays; check the actual campus. Official source
Compare the practical details
Scroll the table sideways on a small screen.
Published arrangements; confirm your dates with the host.
Dengfeng: private rooms and an English-speaking admissions office
The centre explicitly offers stays of a few days, weeks or months, with flexible starts by advance booking. Short-course fees include training, meals and a private or shared room. Its FAQ welcomes international beginners and describes basic English from instructors plus English-speaking office staff.
Time to allow
Short courses accept stays of a few days, weeks or months, with flexible starts by advance booking. An exact minimum number of days is not stated.
Language evidence
English support stated
Before you enquire Confirm your exact dates, campus, room and beginner timetable. The short-course page gives no numeric minimum or guaranteed availability.
Xiaolong’s international programme lists one week at US$380 plus a US$100 application fee. The fee page includes six training days a week, three daily meals, a two-person room and English translation in training and cultural classes. Its FAQ welcomes overseas beginners and flexible year-round starts.
Time to allow
A one-week package and longer stays are published. The FAQ describes flexible starts throughout the year; confirm the nights, adult group and available dates.
Language evidence
English support stated
Before you enquire The fee page lists a shared room, while the FAQ says a private room is standard. Payment deadlines also conflict. Obtain written room, payment and cancellation terms before paying.
Near Dengfeng: standing practice and foundational internal work
Gulun Chanyuan describes an approach beginning with standing meditation, five stances and Pan Gen, with teaching mainly by Wu Nanfang’s senior disciples. Its training page states a two-week minimum. Dormitories and separately priced off-site accommodation are described.
Time to allow
The current training page states a minimum of two weeks beside its booking link, and suggests one to three months for deeper study. Confirm the dates and booking terms.
Language evidence
Ask about English
Before you enquire Confirm who will teach, how explanations will be translated and your room allocation. This is not a two-night introduction.
Qufu, Shandong: a residential alternative outside Dengfeng
Qufu publishes one week at US$360 and two weeks at US$600, plus a US$100 application fee. These fees include weekday training, a two-person room, daily meals and English translation in training and cultural classes. Beginners are welcome. The application page recommends applying two to six months ahead.
Time to allow
One- and two-week rates are published alongside daily and monthly prices. An exact minimum stay is not stated. The school recommends applying two to six months before arrival.
Language evidence
English support stated
Before you enquire Confirm the beginner group, arrival and departure nights, and cancellation terms. Published daily rates do not establish a one-day residential course or a numeric minimum.
These schools are in Shandong and Jiangsu, outside the Shaolin Temple in Henan. Choose by the time you have and confirm the beginner group before booking.
Affiliate links: we may earn a commission if you book through these links.
Feixian, Shandong · 7-day package
Tianmeng Kung Fu and Qigong Academy
A short introduction to kung fu, qigong and tai chi with accommodation and meals. The listing gives both six and seven nights; confirm the included nights and English support.
For a night before or after your programme. Check whether your host already includes accommodation. These are ordinary hotel searches, not temple stays.
Ask how many sessions are taught, what is self-practice, whether beginners train separately, and how rest days work. A founder’s biography and a photograph with a master do not tell you who will lead your daily lessons. Get that answer from the admissions office.
Allow enough time for the school’s actual minimum
For a one-week enquiry, compare Xiaolong’s listed package with Qufu’s weekly rate. Qufu also lists two weeks; the Shaolin Wushu centre explicitly accepts stays of days or weeks. Confirm how many nights and taught sessions each quote covers. Gulun states a two-week minimum; Maling’s last verified admission requirement is one month. Published prices are starting points for a current written quote.
Questions about this experience
Will I train inside Shaolin Temple?
Do not assume so from the school’s name. Confirm the teaching campus and accommodation address separately. Qufu is in Shandong, and even Dengfeng schools can operate independent residences.
Do I need previous martial arts experience?
Some schools address a range of experience levels, but the appropriate adult group and workload still need confirmation. Tell the school what you have practised before and ask for an introductory timetable.
How much does one or two weeks of Shaolin training in China cost?
Qufu lists US$360 for one week or US$600 for two weeks, plus a US$100 application fee: US$460 or US$700 combined. Xiaolong lists US$380 for one week plus US$100 to apply, or US$480 combined. These published school fees include training, meals and accommodation; flights, visa costs, insurance and personal spending are separate. Confirm dates, nights and room terms directly, particularly Xiaolong’s conflicting room descriptions.
What should a written quote include?
Ask for instruction, translation, the room and its occupancy, meals, any transfers, required equipment and cancellation terms. Compare the same number of nights and the same room type across schools.
Based on the linked programme sources and our research register. We have not visited or inspected these programmes; confirm dates and admission with each host.